a simple testimony of how I found enough this Christmas…

IMG_8245.JPGI love Christmastime and all of the things that come with it (just ask anyone who knows me, haha)- the lights, trees, decorations, family time, reunions with friends, the giving and even the getting. I love the music, the movies, and the feeling that Christmastime brings. It’s a feeling that I don’t have words to explain but I bet you know the exact feeling I’m referring to.

To be completely honest, most Christmases for me mean all of that with just some dashes of  Jesus thrown in here and there- reading The Story a few times, the Christmas church service, the children’s program, and some quiet times in front of the Christmas tree. Like just doing the things I’m supposed to do so I can still say that Jesus is the reason for the season.

But this Christmas, I’ve found myself needing more than that.

So, I asked Jesus to show me more.
In hopes of Him showing me more, I decided to read the Christmas story all the way through, starting in Luke 1. A story I have heard and read a hundred times before.

Turns out He didn’t speak some crazy new word or idea into my heart. And He didn’t make any words jump off the page that I had previously just skimmed over. To be quite honest, He didn’t show me more.

What Jesus showed me was that the story I had heard and read a hundred times, just the way it was written, straight out of the Bible, was enough.

And I have sat in my room for the past three nights, absolutely amazed at a story I have heard and read a hundred times, just the way it was written, straight out of the Bible.  I’m talking like amazed to the point of tears.

The simplicity.
The humility.
The sacrifice.
The joy.
The hope.
And the love. So. Much. Love.

So, I sit here again tonight…

In awe of Christmas.

In awe of our good, good Father offering His son, Jesus.

In awe of Jesus, our perfect picture of humility, who left His literal throne beside His father in Heaven to come dwell among us.

In awe of who God chose to bring the Savior into the world. Mary and Joseph- ordinary people chosen by the Father to do an amazing thing.

In awe of the fact that Jesus came to save a world that didn’t have room for Him. A world that instead offered Him a manger in a stable. A world that was distraught and broken. A world that was hopeless without Him.

In awe of the Father’s perfectly orchestrated plan that played out that night. Oh, what a glorious night.

In awe of love come down.

In awe of what that night meant and what it still means.
Of what that night was the beginning of.
Of the joy, peace, and life that I have because of that night.

This story and the truth found in it satisfies my need for more by being enough.

/// For those of you who are like me, needing something more this Christmas-
I am praying that you will find a Bible (or a Bible app 🙂 ) and start reading in Luke 1.
I am praying that you are in absolute awe of what you read, even if you’ve read it before.
I am praying that you keep reading  because Jesus’ birth is just the beginning.

What you will find is enough. In fact, it’s much more than enough.

/// Oh & Merry Christmas!!! ❤

 

 

 

 

One thought on “a simple testimony of how I found enough this Christmas…

Leave a comment